Cannondale CAAD10 3, road bike

The dark side of me is becoming darker still

I have been riding mountain biking for over 15 years now.

Two years ago in September 2010 I bought a singlespeed road bike to play with https://minty95.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/singlespeed/ then three months later changed it for a another singlepeed https://minty95.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/new-singlespeed/

Since then I have rode over 3950 kilometers on these two singlespeed bikes, (and over 7350km  on my MTBs) but now its time for a change again

This weekend having just sold my Rocky Mountain MTB after four years of loyal service I went out and bought a real road bike, by real I mean with gears.

A brand new Cannondale CAAD10 3, model 2012, Aluminium frame, carbon fork, and with a compact pedalier 50/34 and a cassette 12/25. For the last two years I’ve been used to a pedalier with only 44 teeth and 16 tooth cog at the back.

So this Monday morning as its my rest day from the gym and mountain biking, instead of resting, I jumped on the bike and road to work to try it out .

Its stiff, stiffer than the Pompino, which has a steel frame, the Cannondale is a Alu frame, it flies along the road, far more reactive, it’s just given me the second fasted time ever from home to work, and on my first ride. This is to be expected though as  I have now have gears, so going down hill with the 50/12 is quite a change from the 44/17 (with my legs trying to turn faster than the bike itself) and this second best time without really knowing the bike, or its handling, or even riding to fast. again as I stated its meant to be my weekly rest day from sport.

I have to get used to the changing gears and they are nothing like the XTRs on my mountain bike and so feel quite strange for the moment, tonight should be a little better as of course  I have to ride back home and shall probably do the long way round, adding more kms to my ride and trying to get the feel of the beast.

In October I’m basically going to finish my MTB season, with a week at the Roc d’Azur (Europe’s biggest MTB race) I have two big rides during that week and a couple of days riding in Fréjus just before with friends who are going as well, and then after that things should slow down.

I’m feel that my future rides will be more and more on the Cannondale, especially if autumn and winter is as bad as last year, hence the title dark side of bike riding becoming darker still

I’m still going to keep and use the Pompino singlespeed, its ideal for to and  fro from work, only a round trip of about 38kms, and with the singlespeed there is no maintenance to be done, except for an occasional chain tightening, also singlepeeds are by far the best way of keep your thighs strong as they have to work far more than on a bike with gears.

Update 2016 : SOLD after a couple of years with it I’ve decided to stay with my singlepeed and so sold the Cannondale.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bikes - Mountain bikes & Singlespeed

Leave a Reply

