Five years on a singlespeed bike

Pompino singlespeed
Semi retired…
err Re-active… 

Image

I’ve ridden this Pompino singlespeed for a little over 18 months now, I ridden over 2200 kilometres on it. Well over half of my rides, are Sundays rides with friends, them on ‘real’ rode bikes with gears, mostly between 60 and 90 kms outings with an occasionally ride of over 90 kms, in fact even managed this summer a 111km outing, my legs were good that day …

Since the month of October I now have a ‘real’ road bike, which can be seen on my post https://minty95.wordpress.com/2012/09/17/cannondale-caad10-3-road-bike/ so the long distance rides on the Pompino will be less, this keeping my mates happy, though not sure why as I’ve always managed to keep up with them distance wise, but not speed wise, on the downhills you just can’t go any faster ….. and some hills can be slow going …

The Pomino I’m keeping, it’s the ideal ride to work and back bike, no maintenance, just a quick wipe on the chain sometimes, and nothing else,  it’s not quite as fast as my Cannondale CAAD10 3 but its fun and keeps my legs in better shape.

Update 2016 : sold the Cannondale, now when on the road its always the singlespeed and the Pompino frame has been sold for the  newer version

IMG_20160417_121425

So I sold the Cannondale, I don’t really need three bikes (as I ride less and less these days, between the seances of Crossfit, the gym and now a personal coach once a week, I just don’t have the time.

I sold the Pompino to re buy it, the latest version V4, always from http://www.on-one.co.uk/ also I went from a medium frame the large size, a little better suited to my size being 1.77m

I recuperated all the parts from the old frame except I changed the chain and main drive ring, see https://minty95.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/new-singlespeed

The ride is the same as before though a little more stable as it’s bigger, when I’m riding roads the Pompino is still just great, I mostly ride on my own these days as most of my biking friends have moved on, I’m still riding anything from 50k to 100k rides,

Month of june 2016, a 100k ride, with around 1000m dénilvelé
https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/embed/1247803838

IMG_20160326_114119

New front ring, 44tooth

Leave a comment

Filed under Bikes - Mountain bikes & Singlespeed

Leave a Reply

