How to ruin your eyesight, your eye or eyes for the rest of your life

Refractive surgical eye treatment

In October 2012 I decided that I’d like to correct my Long-sightedness (hyperopia) by having refractive laser eye treatment, Unless I’ve got the term wrong ( I’ve been in France to long : presbytie ) Hyperopia means that I needed glasses to read a book, use the remote control or anything small and up close

This consisted of firstly have a battery of tests on both eyes, I think to see the form of the eye and the problems already installed, in my case Long-sightedness (hyperopia) so that they could correct the existing problem.

Then a couple of weeks later I went to the clinic for a 15 mins of laser treatment, this is painless and you just come away with a runny eye, no pain and  little discomfort

A couple of hours later I was even able to read a SMS from my wife asking if I was Ok, it was little blurry but before I would have needed to wear my reading glasses to read it.

Sadly the operation didn’t go to  well and I soon started have all the post operation side affects that can be found in various forums online :  here are a couple of site that explain the many problems, sadly I didn’t do any research before my operation  as was totaly unaware http://www.lasikcomplications.com/risks.htm or http://www.webmd.com/eye-health/overview-refractive-laser-eye-surgery?page=2 if only I seen these, I’m sure I wouldn’t have taken the risk.

I have all the unwanted side effects that are possible : for info this post is written 10 months after my operation

I have a lot of difficultly getting the eye to focus on anything,  one eye now being shorted sighted and the other long sighted (the correction is only done on one eye) they now seem to be constantly fighting each other.

The eye sees troubled and most of the times double, this is not stable sometimes it seems Ok but sadly this rarely lasts, again a known problem : Fluctuating vision

I have also the impression that I have a fly in my eye, in French it’s called a DPV (haven’t found what its called in English yet) which is due to dirty eye liquid getting stuck behind the eye while they operate on it, no way of correcting this by the way, this gives you the impression that you have a fly or gnat in the eye and you see a dark shape zooming around as I move the eye.

I now need glasses so that I can drive and ride my bike safely as everything is slightly blurred, especially at night, street lights and car headlamps all have halos, (like driving in the pouring rain) I now rarely drive at night as it’s just to tiring and even dangerous

The eye is always extremely tired and often I find myself closing it when need to look at something or someone, the TV, a signpost or someone in the distance for instance

My work suffers as its extremely tiring using a computer, at the end of the day my eyes feel like that they are going to explode.

I can effectively read without glasses except that I get very tired very quickly and  I now need good light to read in, as normal room lighting is often not bright enough to read by.

The doctor of course just says that the operation was a success,

I’ve gone from only needing glasses sometimes to read, to all of the time : when driving or riding my bikes, walking in town.

Of course I would now NOT suggest laser treatment to anyone, if it goes wrong it can screw you and your eye or eyes for life, with a dicky eye, that is painful and tired all the time, even 10 months after the operation, even writing this blog is a pain, computer screens are by the far  hardest and most tiring thing to deal with.

I’ve paid the price of being vain by not wanting to wear glasses.

PS I’m so used to reading, thinking in French that I forget my English, there are probably many mistakes please do not hesitate to correct me using the comments section, I will not take it badly.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Sport & Health

Leave a Reply

