Updating KodiBuntu

KodiBuntu

(If you don’t want to read all my blathering why I chose Kodi, jump down about a page to get directly into how to update it)

For the last couple of years I’ve been using Western Digital TV Hub to watch films, TV shows and listen to my 1000 odd CDs ripped in Flac on my HiFi when I can’t be bothered to grab a CD or a LP

This machine is easy to use just created a couple of folders on the internal HD then copy my files from my PC to the WD, this is useful as it means I have a separate backup, especially of my 1000 plus CD collection as this takes forever if you have to re rip them (been there , done that, don’t wan’t to do it again)

The only problem with the WD is that it is so so slow, changing screens from the music library to the video, or just changing folder takes far to long and I can no longer stand this, also there seems to be no more firmware updates and so I finally decided to sit down and see what else is available on the market. We are July 2015

After a couple of hours googling around I came across Plex https://plex.tv/

I downloaded and installed on my PC (I was running the beta windows 10 setup) It’s easy to install, the interface is clean , refreshing and easy to understand. basically you just choose to add some folders or files to it, under the TV, Movies or Music selection, point and click to where they are stored on your PC it will just ‘broadcast’ these to your TV (if your TV has DNLA )

In minutes I was able to watching a TV episode and listening to some of my music, pretty cool, extremely quick

Although this was pretty clever not being able to ‘remote control’ all from the sitting room with the PC being in the bedroom (you can stop, start, fast forward using the TV ‘s controller but not much else and this wasn’t enough for me

Also if I replaced the WD I want a separate box for my backups? I’m old school, the PC is for games, working etc not for films or music, so I again started to look around for a replacement of the WD box, there isn’t much on the market and my searches kept coming back to Zotac barebone computers running Kodi or Plex.

So I took a look at their site. Confusing to say the least, there are many different models and I didn’t have clue which one to buy. I ended up choosing a middle / upper range  model the EI730, there are two versions as nearly all the Zotac barebone, either an  ’empty’ model having no HD or memory, or a version with a HD and memory. I like building my own PCs so the options choosing my own HD and memory was for me a better option. I choose a  HD WD WD10SPCX 1T 5400T SATA 7MM 8MB and memory GSKILL SODIMM 8GB F3-1600C11S-8GRSL . I never have enough memory so I bought two sticks, giving me 16gb in all, a overkill, but who cares.

Receiving all the parts in a couple of days, adding the memory sticks and HD took all of 5 mins. The Zotac is clean and well thought out and adding the hardware is a piece of cake.

Adding a computer screen, keyboard and mouse to do the setup, plugged in a USB stick with KodiBuntu on it, (you will need to create a ‘USB startup’ using Linuxlive USB creator, which is dead easy) I didn’t want to waste a windows 7 or 10 key as the Zotac will solely be for music and video using Kodi. (if need be, you can boot into the Linux setup and be used as a normal computer)  The Zotac booted from the USB key and in less than 10mins the version Helix 14 was installed. (Helix 14 being the ‘latest’ version of KodiBuntu available on download from their site http://kodi.tv/download/) (this at the time of writing)

After the install had finished and booted into Kodi, there was a RSS feed on the bottom of the screen  saying latest version Isengard 15.0 had been released, so why did I only have version  Helix 14 installed  ? a quick browsing on the forums I found that there wouldn’t be a download for this version, and you have to update it yourself, mmmmm clever non ???

Maybe it was me but couldn’t find out how to update it to the latest version through the Kodi interface. As I like playing with things I decided to search a little in the Linux part of KodiBuntu (this means booting into the Linux desktop mode that is ‘hidden’ (I had chosen when installing Kodi to boot automatically into the Kodi interface)

This is not as difficult as it sounds, though I had already noticed many questions on how to update Kodi on the web, and  as usual the answers although correct will be pure gibberish for most, you will get answers such as do a  ‘sudo update’ etc etc , from where, how, these answers sadly don’t mean a thing to most people, being a little to complicated, never very clear and specific only to Linux utilisateurs

So after playing and fucking up the first install (trying to do a sudo update ….) and reinstalling again, here are I hope, some clear instructions to update to the latest version of Kodi.

Though being out of England for around 30 years now, some my English is as clear as mud, doh…

Updating Kodibunti

This is for those who run Kodi on a Linux setup : Kodibunti

When you are in Kodi on the bottom left of the screen the is the logout button, note that in the Jarvis update or maybe it’s just latest skin that I’ve installed,  the icon is no longer at the bottom of the screen, so just chose POWER from the menu bar and chose Exit, the this will take you to the login window where you can then choose to boot into the Linux desktop mode, so that you can do the update.

on off

Bottom of the screen power button

Once ‘Exit’ has been pressed

800px-Kodi-session

When you Exit Kodi

Ok, So I pinched this image from the Kodi site August  2016, just goes to show how out of date they are showing xbmc rather than Kodi

So when you are here. Top right chose Lubuntu and type in your password and hit Log in, this will now boot you into Linux

Once  booted in the standard Linux screen, choose the bottom left icon, and then choose the System tools / Synaptic manager, this will then take you into a new window.

Firstly top left click the Reload button so that it updates the package manager (you are connected to the web, arn’t you ???). You then choose  from the left frame ‘Installed’ and then slightly higher up click on ‘Mark all Upgrades’, then click on the button next right ‘Apply’ Then if all goes well …. just hit the ‘close’ button when all updates have been installed (follow the images from left to right)

All being well you have now updated Kodi to the latest version and your Linux / Ubuntu as well.

I hit the logout button after this, as I thought that this would reboot me into Kodi as normal but it only rebooted back in Ubuntu so if this happens to you, you need to go up to the top right of your screen and choose Kodi from the popup menu, then when you reboot you will reboot into Kodi, checking system info will then show you that you are running V15 (V15 being the latest version at the time of writing))

2015-08-08 17.09.44

2015-08-08 17.13.32

2015-08-08 17.16.13

2015-08-08 17.16.26

2015-08-08 17.16.38

2015-08-08 17.16.48

2015-08-08 17.20.28

2015-08-08 17.21.08

2015-08-08 17.41.41

 

 

I’m new to all this Kodi stuff, and haven’t played with Linux in years. I just found that it was far from obvious to update it, so I hope that this information helps you update your Kodi to the latest version.

Update : am now running the latest Jarvis version 16.1, all is just fine.

ZOTAC

Zotac computer running Ubuntu

Everything on the Zotac is basically standard stuff, USB, DVI optical outputs etc Except the ‘Display ports’ not having a clue what they were and of course cables are not supplied, so I used the DVI adaptor to connect the TV using a HDMI cable to start with

Since then have checked and need to order a cable such as http://www.amazon.fr/CSL-Displayport-retransmission-connecteur-certifi%C3%A9/dp/B00P8WRH42/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1438685801&sr=1-2&keywords=display+port this I’ve ordered but not yet received.

The sound was connected to my Rotel RSP 1098 amp using a digital optical cable, the Rotel doesn’t accept HDMI as its to old , but there is no way I’m going to change it as its to good. shame is that Kodi doesn’t seem able to route sound to two ports at the same time, so I have to use my amp even when watching a film on the TV

Please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong or if I’ve written something stupid, or if you have any questions. Also living in France for so long I forget my English so forgive any phrases / words that aren’t quite right.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Analog

Leave a Reply

